Publications, Protocols and Reviews

Featured Article

Featured Article

Standardized Cryopreservation of Human Primary Cells
Thomas V. Ramos, Aby J. Mathew, Maria L. Thompson, Rolf O. Ehrhardt
HemaCare Corporation, Van Nuys, California,  BioLife Solutions, Bothell, Washington, BioCision, Larkspur, California

 

Cryopreservation is the use of low temperatures to preserve structurally intact living cells. The cells that survive the thermodynamic journey from the 37°C incubator to the −196°C liquid nitrogen storage tank are free from the influences of time. Thus, cryopreservation is a critical component of cell culture and cell manufacturing protocols. Successful cryopreservation of human cells requires that the cells be derived from patient samples that are collected in a standardized manner, and carefully handled from blood draw through cell isolation. Furthermore, proper equipment must be in place to ensure consistency, reproducibility, and sterility. In addition, the correct choice and amount of cryoprotectant agent must be added at the correct temperature, and a controlled rate of freezing (most commonly 1°C/min) must be applied prior to a standardized method of cryogenic storage. This appendix describes how human primary cells can be frozen for long‐term storage and thawed for growth in a tissue culture vessel.

Protocols

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of published protocols from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Cell and Stem Cryopreservation

Cryopreservation and Thawing of Mammalian Cells
Maria L Thompson, Eric J Kunkel and Rolf O Ehrhardt
eLS Wiley, December 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell, ThawSTAR

Standardized Cryopreservation of Human Primary Cells
Thomas V. Ramos, Aby J. Mathew, Maria L. Thompson, Rolf O. Ehrhardt
Current Protocols in Cell Biology, November 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Standardized Cryopreservation of Pluripotent Stem Cells

Rick I. Cohen, Maria L. Thompson,Brian Schryver, Rolf O. Ehrhardt
Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology, March 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Cryopreservation and Thawing of Cells
Wayne M. Yokoyama, Maria L. Thompson, Rolf O. Ehrhardt
Current Protocols in Immunology, November 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Rate-Controlled Cryopreservation and Thawing of Mammalian Cells
Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt
BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Using CoolCell Cell Freezing Container in a Dry Ice Locker to Cryopreserve Cells
Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt
BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Rate-controlled Cryopreservation and Thawing of Mammalian Cells
Maria Thompson, Michelle Nemits, and Rolf Ehrhardt
Nature: Protocol Exchange, March 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Reproducible Cell Freezing
The Biomedical Scientist
British Journal of Biomedical Science, August 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

Cell Snapshot - Reproducibility in cryopreservation is a necessary step towards consistent post-thaw cell function
Rolf Ehrhardt, MD, PhD and Brian Schryver
BioCision LLC, February 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

New CoolCell Cell Freezing Container Video from BioCision
LabGrab, February 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

CoolCell - Controlled Cell Freezing w/o Alcohol or Maintenance Cost
Rolf Ehrhardt, Brian Schryver and Jeff Schryver
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE),
2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

PBMC Isolation

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Isolation of Human Mononulcear Cells from Blood
Mark Klein, Professor Dr. A.B.J Prakken, Ucan-U, November 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Cross Network PBMC Processing SOP
Cross-Network PBMC SOP Working Group, April 2009
Product Featured: CoolCell

Virus Cryopreservation

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Virus Cryopreservation Protocol
Aurelio Bonavia, Maria Thompson, and Rolf Ehrhardt, Protocol Exchange
February 2012
Product Featured: CoolRack

Virus Cryopreservation using a CoolRack Module
Aurelio Bonavia, Maria Thompson, and Rolf Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, 2012
Product Featured: CoolRack CFT30, CoolBox CFT30 System, ThermalTray LP, CoolSink LX55, TruCool Cryogenic vials, TruCool Hinged CryoBoxes

 

Bacteria Cryopreservation

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Bacteria Cryopreservation Protocol
Aurelio Bonavia, Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, and Rolf Ehrhardt
Protocol Exchange
, March 2012
Product Featured: CoolRack

Bacteria Cryopreservation using a CoolRack Module
Aurelio Bonavia, Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, and Rolf Ehrhardt
BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured:CoolBox CFT30 System, CoolBox 30 Freezing Cartridge, CoolRack CFT30, TruCool Cryogenic vials, CryoLabels, CoolSink, ThermalTray LP, CoolSink LX55

 

Tissue Snap freezing

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Snap Freezing of Tissue Samples
Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured: CoolRack M15-PF, CoolRack M-30 PF, CoolBox 30 System, TruCool microcentrifuge tubes, CoolMat, ThermalTray LP

Snap-Freezing in Liquid Nitrogen Using a CoolRack module and
ThermalTray platform

Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured: CoolRack, ThermalTray

Snap Freezing Samples in Dry Ice using a CoolRack Module
Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, 2011
Product Featured: CoolRack, CoolBox 30

 

Other

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Cell Culture Techniques for In Vivo Grafting
In Vivo Imaging Community, 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Protocol for Cryopreservation of Nucleofection™ Competent Cells
Lonza Cologne GmbH, BioResearch, 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Using a CoolRack M96ID Module with a Multi-Channel Pipetter
Brian Schryver and Rolf Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, May 2012
Product Featured: CoolRack M96ID, 9L Ice Pan

Waterbaths with ThermalTray, CoolRack and CoolSink
Brian Schryver and Dr. Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, May 2012
Product Featured: ThermalTray LP, ThermalTray HP, CoolRack, CoolSink

The Ice-Bucket Makeover - Portable Laboratory Cooling Gets with the Times
Maria Thompson and Dr. Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, May 2010
Product Featured:CoolRack PCR, CoolRack M96ID, CoolBox CFT30 System

Publications

Researchers all across the globe are successfully using our products for a wide range of applications. We are proud to share this list of publications from the growing community of BioCision customers, external collaborators, and internal scientists.

Maximizing PMBC Recovery and Viability: A Method to Optimize and Streamline Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cell Isolation, Cryopreservation, and Thawing
Mars Stone, Karla Murcia, Melanie Dimapasoc, Bonnie Yip, Maria Thompson, Eric J. Kunkel, Brian Schryver and Rolf O. Ehrhardt, BioProcess International, April 2015
Product Featured: ThawSTAR

Cell Thawing: Are You Risking GMP Compliance With The Water Bath Method?
Trisha Glad, Pharmaceutical Online and BioProcess Online, January 2015
Product Featured: ThawSTAR

Automated biospecimen thawing: an interview with Dr Rolf Ehrhardt, CEO of BioCision
Interview conducted by April Cashin-Garbutt, BA Hons, News-medical.net, November 2014

Cell Thawing: Are You Risking GMP Compliance With The Water Bath Method?
Trisha Gladd, Pharmaceutical Online and BioProcess Online, January 2015
Product Featured: ThawSTAR

Select Organisms Publications Citing BioCision Products
BioCision, LLC. January 2015
Product Featured: CoolCell

Balancing the Cryopreservation Equation
Maria Thompson, PhD and Eric Kunkel, PhD
Product Featured: ThawSTAR

Playing it Cool
Rolf Ehrhardt, MD, PhD and Maria Thompson, PhD
EBR, September 2014

Select Stem Cells and T Cells Publications Citing BioCision Products
BioCision, LLC. July 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Understanding the Effects of Cryopreservation on Cellular Therapy: A Study of Mesenchymal Stromal Cells in the Clinic
Guido Moll, Jessica Alm, Lindsay Davis, Lena von Bahr, Nina Heldring, Lillemor Stenbeck-Funke, Osama Hamad, Robin Hinsch, Lech Ignatowicz, Matthew Locke, Helena Lonnies, John Lambris, Yuji Teramura, Kristina Nilsson-Ekdahl, Bo Nilsson and Katerina Le Blanc
Stem Cells: Translational and Clinical Research, April 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Use of a Low-Cost Passive Freezing Device in the Effective Cryopreservation and Recovery of Human T-regs for use in a Cell Therapy Trial
Arnaud Foussat, Rodney Rietze, Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, and Rolf Ehrhardt Poster #78 International Society of Cell Therapy, April 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Validation of a Novel Portable Freezing Device in the Optimal Freezing  of Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells for Potential Cell Therapy Use
Amy Putnam, Eleonora Trotta, Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, and Rolf Ehrhardt Poster #79 International Society of Cell Therapy, April 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

Temperature Standardization Gets the Cold Shoulder
Maria Thompson, Brian Schryver, Rolf Ehrhardt, Laboratory Equipment
December 2013
Product Featured: CoolCell

Directed differentiation of human pluripotent cells to neural crest stem cells
Laura Menendez, Michael Kulik, Austin Page, Sarah Park, James Lauderdale, Michael Cunningham, Stephen Dalton, Nature Protocols, January 2013
Product Featured: CoolCell

New Method for Cryopreservation of Fresh Water Diatoms
Buhmann MT, Day JG, and Kroth PG. “Post-cryopreservation viability of the benthic freshwater diatom Planothidium frequentissimum depends on light levels.” Cryobiology, 2013. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Cellular stress research is aided by CoolCell freezing container
Marunde, MR. "Improved tolerance to salt and water stress in Drosophila melanogaster cells conferred by late embryogenesis abundant protein." J Insect Physiol. 2013 Apr; 59(4):377-86. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Promise for parkinsons cell therapy
Hu Xu. et al. “Neurotrophic factor expression in expandable cell populations from brain samples in living patients with Parkinson’s disease.” The FASEB Journal: Research Communication. 2013. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Sample Handling: Quality Assurance Could Improve Biomarker Search
Geddes, TJ. et al. "SPIN: Development of Sample-specific Protein Integrity Numbers as an Index of Biospecimen Quality." Biopreservation and Biobanking. 2013 Vol 11(1):25-32. DOI: 10.1089/bio.2012.0039. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Fieldwork Sample Handling is Improved by CoolCell Freezing Container
Kwok A. et al. "Cryopreservation and storage of mussel (Mytilus spp.) haemocytes for latent analysis by the Comet assay." Mutation Research 750 (2013) 86-91
The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Directed differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells to cerebral cortex neurons and neural networks
Yichen Shi, Peter Kirwan & Frederick J Livesey, Nature Protocols, September 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Standardization of the Cryopreservation Process for Parathyroid Glands
BioKryo GmbH, Fraunhofer IBMT, The 12th Cryogenics, 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Neuronal stem cells are cryopreserved with CoolCell freezing container
Shei, Y. et al. "Directed differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells to cerebral cortex neurons and neural networks." Nature Protocols. 2012 Oct;7(10):1836-46. doi: 10.1038/nprot.2012.116.
The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Freezing Containers for Cell Preservation
Maria Thompson, PhD. GEN: Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology News, June 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

A Meeting of the Minds for Sample Management
DDN News, May 2014 Volume 10, Issue 5

Back to the Future
R. Lee Buckler, Rolf Ehrhardt, Maria Thompson
EBR, April 2014
Product Featured: CoolCell

BioBanking Technologies: A Global Market Watch 2009-2015
Axis Research Mind, November 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Application of cytotechnology techniques: A case study for the production, purification and characterization of humanized antibody secreted by NS0 transfectoma
Suba Dharshanan, Heilly Chong, Cheah Swee Hung and Zulkeflie Zamrod, June 2011. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Safeguarding Biological Specimen Integrity
Carol Potera, Genetic and Engineering News, February 2011
Product Featured: CoolBox, CoolCell, CoolRack

Cell Snapshot - Reproducibility in cryopreservation is a necessary step towards consistent post-thaw cell function
Rolf O. Ehrhardt, MD, PhD and Brian Schryver, Laboratory Equipment, February 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

Reproducible Cell Assays
Brian Schryver and Rolf O. Ehrhardt, MD, PhD, G.I.T Laboratory Journal
September 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

Improved thermal management of microtiter plates using the BioCision CoolSink
Brian Schryver and Rolf O. Ehrhardt, MD, PhD BioTechniques, November 2010
Product Featured: CoolSink 96F

Precision in Cryopreservation- Equiptment and Control
By Stephen Butler and David Pegg, University of York, March 2012
Product Featured: CoolCell

Neural Crest Stem Cell Cryopreservation
Shei, Y. et al. "Directed differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells to cerebral cortex neurons and neural networks." Nature Protocols. 2012 Oct;7(10):1836-46. doi: 10.1038/nprot.2012.116. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Using PARP Inhibitor in Cancer Therapeutics
Shall, S. et al. “The Use of PARP Inhibitors in Cancer Therapy: Use as Adjuvant with Chemotherapy or Radiotherapy; Use as a Single Agent in Susceptible Patients; Techniques Used to Identify Susceptible Patients” 2011. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Isolation on PBMC
Network for Pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes, May 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Isolation of Cells from Spleen, Thymus and Lymph Nodes
Network for Pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes, May 2011
Product Featured: CoolCell

Isolation and preservation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells for analysis of islet antigen-reactive T cell responses
R Mallone, S.I. Mannering, BM Brooks - Worrell, I Durinovic-Bello, C Cillo, F.S. Wong, N.C. Schloot, Journal of Clinical and Experimental Immunology, 2011. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

CoolCell Endorsed for Freezing Antibody-Producing Clones
Dharshanan S. "Application of cytotechnology techniques: A case study for the production, purification and characterization of humanized antibody secreted by NS0 transfectoma." AsPac J. Mol. Biol. Biotechnol. 2011. Vol 19 (2): 63-71. The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

The Ice-Bucket Makeover - Portable Laboratory Cooling Gets with the Times
Mr. Schryver and Dr. Ehrhardt, BioCision LLC, May 2010
Product Featured:CoolRack PCR, CoolRack M96ID, CoolBox CFT30 System

Drug Discovery and Cardiotoxicity: CHO and HEK cells
Xueying, C. et al. “Cardiac ion channel safety profiling on the ionworks quattro automated patch clamp system” ASSAY and Drug Development Technologies, 2010.
The paper above has been summarized on the biocision blog
Product Featured: CoolCell

Reducing the variability of pre-analytical handling of biological samples
BioCision Biotech International, November 2010
Product Featured: CoolRack PF 500, ThermalTray

Top Trends In Life Science Research
Bioscience Technology, June 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

Reproducible Cell Freezing The Biomedical Scientist
British Journal of Biomedical Science
Pathology in Practice
Brian Schryver and Rolf O. Ehrhardt, MD, PhD, The Biomedical Scientist, August 2010
Product Featured: CoolCell

CellPlayer™ 96-well Kinetic Cell Migration and Invasion Assay
Meagan Roddy,Thom Nelson, Daniel M. Appledom and Vince Groppi, Essen BioScience Application Note, 2012
Product Featured: CoolSink

Mature Oocyte Cryopreservation: A Guideline
American Society for Reproductive Medicine, 2012

The Optimal Stage of Freezing Human Embryos
Leniaud Louis and Sifer Christophe, Current Women's Health Review, January 2009

Reviews

Hear what other researchers and technicians have to say about our products.  If you'd like to give us your feedback, please contact us.

 

 

Helen Huls - Laboratory Manager of Pediatric Research, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Our GMP protocols call for thawing of cells every 60 days from a Master Bank. Use of a water bath within a GMP facility is highly discouraged due to contamination concerns. If one is employed, it must be thoroughly emptied and cleaned after every single use. Incorporation of a ThawSTAR™ thawing system into our protocols allows us to streamline our workflow, recognize time savings, and enforce sterile operating conditions.

 

 

Dr. Mars Stone - Viral Reference Lab and Repository Core, Blood Systems Research Institute 

BioCision is a very innovative company and once we heard about the new cell thawing system, we were really eager to try it out for thawing PBMCs from our viral repository. When using a water bath to thaw there is always a risk of contamination, and we were keen to have a more reproducible cell thawing method. The ThawSTAR™ system solves all of our concerns and we can use it in the hood which improves our cryopreservation workflow.

 

 

Kevin Grady - Product Line Business Manager, ATCC
We have been consistently impressed with the levels of standardization that are achieved through the BioCision CoolProducts platform, and we look forward to providing our customers with a new industry standard for cryopreservation.  BioCision products are elegant in their simplicity and ease of use and offer researchers standardized methods with great reproducibility and little variability in performance.



John Gardner - Senior Project Leader, Roslin Cellab
....The combination of controlled freezing with the CoolCell and controlled temperature for thawing (in CoolRack) greatly increase the reproducibility of the freeze thaw process, with increased cell viability and cell growth post thaw. The versatility of the system is simply brilliant.

 

Rohit K. Gupta - Stanford University
We run a registry, in which large amounts of PBMCs are processed for long-term cyropreservation. After testing the CoolCell out, we found slightly better cell viability (>90%) than our current cell freezing containers, and there is no Isopropanol waste generated. Overall, the CoolCell has proven to us to set a new bar in cryopreservation.

 

Matt Donne - UCSF Stem Cell Lab
The CoolCell is more efficient and easier to use than the Mr. Frosty. Not needing to add isopropyl, the lack of a screw top, and not having downtime after removing it from the -80° makes freezing cells a lot easier. I plan on only purchasing the CoolCell in the future.

 

Dr. Joseph R Bishop - University of California , San Diego, Dept of Cellular & Molecular Medicine
The CoolCell performed great. At first, I was surprised at how light weight it was, but that turned out to be a plus. Our -80 is a complete mess like every other lab in the world. so I could easily fit it into the "catch-all" area at an odd angle on top some other "stuff" that had been there for god knows how long. I also really liked that the tubes were held relatively snuggly in the cell, so that if someone in my lab knocked it out of the -80° while digging for something else, my cells don't go flying across the lab floor, under the freezer, etc....I agree with what your website claims about the isopropanol as well. With those units, you don't need to perfectly place the cell upright so it doesn't spill out etc. Cant tell you how many times we've done that as well! I can also report that cells thawed and survived perfectly well. Since we make a lot of immortal cell lines from mice, I am expecting the CoolCell to be on duty quite a bit.

 

Srujan Peddapaidi - Merck Pharmaceutical, Vaccine Manufacturing
I have already purchased 21 CoolCells, I have obtained a CoolBox, and I recently ordered a 96 well flat-bottom CoolSink system. All these will be used for our assays. I need one more product to complete my collection of ice-free cooling devices. I already passed on my evaluation of the CoolCell and the other groups are pretty excited and are going to use them. Thanks.


Labgrab - Labgrab.com
Unlike conventional freezing methods, CoolCell uses no alcohol and vastly simplifies the cell freezing process. Alcohol free cell freezing means no freezing variability, no maintenance, no hazardous waste and lower cost while yielding similar or better cell viability and function.

 

Sam Knight - Ceramisphere (Australia)
Purely altruistically, I wanted to mention that one big advantage of the CoolCell is that you can use dry ice to do your freezing if you don't have a -80. I spent nearly a year getting terrible viability-recovery on cell freezing with dry ice (in an alcohol device) followed by storage in LN2, and this on HeLa cells which aren't exactly hard to store. I then bought a CoolCell and now I can just use standard cryo-preservation techniques (DMSO, 20% NBS) and get nearly 100% viability on thawing.

 

Tracy M. Forsyth, Rockland Immunochemicals Inc.
We have completed our testing and the cells frozen back in your Coolcell are comparable to the Mr. Frosty as far as viability is concerned. We froze back cells using the coolcell and Mr. Frosty side by side. We then brought the cells back out of LN2 to test the viability for several days. Your product has several attractive aspects as well as money saving concepts.

 

Dr. Ingrid Wilson - Deputy Head of Division of Oncology, Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University, Sweden
We have so many good things to say about the CoolBox XT. It is timesaving, we do not have to worry about contaminaton, they do not take up that much space. We work with library preparation for sequencing and cRNA amplification for gene expression. We work a lot with plates and they are always stable on the CoolRack and now we have a more even concentration over the whole plate. When diluting samples from one plate to another we use 2 CoolRacks at the same time, it`s perfect! We can highly recommend them!

 

 

 

Dr. Fraser Moss - Case Western Reserve University, Dept. of Physiology and Biophysics, President Scientist Solutions
BioCision has now eliminated the ice factor and have the CoolBox in which you can keep the 96 well CoolRack. You just keep an ice pack which is wrapped in a metal case (the cooling cartridge) in the freezer and place it in the CoolBox when you are ready to start your experiment and them place the 96 well CoolRack on top of that and it chills down and stays chilled for hours with the lid on. I'm using it to keep my RNA cold for oocyte injections right now. I'll be using it to assemble my PCR reactions in the not too distant future. This had been a great new little toy to have on the bench recently because our departmental ice machine broke in April and still is not fixed! See also http://tinyurl.com/2ee423j.


D.P. - Novartis
Using the demos, especially the "sushi tray" (ThermalTray) with dry ice is amazing for working with frozen vials of cells. We recently needed to reorganize our liquid nitrogen tanks, and your demos made a world of difference. We really like using the cell culture cooling plate (CoolSink) as well.

 

Dr. Keith Luhrs - Scientist, Biological Sciences, Allergan, Inc.
I had a chance to try out the CoolSink 96F and I think it did resolve my issue with non-uniform plate cooling, so I've ordered 4 of them, as well as a rack that fits FACS/Cryo tubes (CoolRack CF) - I like the idea of FACS tubes staying neat and dry, as well as being able to thaw LN2 cryovials without dipping them in the water. These are nice products.  

Hans B - Perkin Elmer
We have been using the CoolRack for snap freezing our samples for the past weeks with great success. Since we were on a tight schedule we performed some validation in house and were very pleased with the results.

 

Pam Y - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Thank you for the opportunity of testing the Coolracks. They are both keepers.

 

John Tran - UC Berkeley
Our lab at UC Berkeley recently tried out CoolRack M90, CoolSink, and ThermalTray and we loved them and thought they were very useful. We were just amazed by how quickly the CoolRack chills our tubes within minutes while preventing the possibility of water getting in and contaminating our samples. The CoolSink and ThermalTray provided a very stable platform for our plates over the ice. We decided to get all of them after trying them out due to their effectiveness. Our lab manager has been looking for a company that was offering such products and fortunately, we've the right place!

 

Edward Kadel - Genentech
I've been lucky enough to have the use of a demo model of this product in my lab at Genentech. At first I thought that I didn't need such a highly engineered tray for my experiments, but after just the first use I was completely hooked! It keeps my tubes stable, very close to 0 degrees and does so for hours. After quietly watching me use my CoolRack a couple times, I now have to make sure that the rack is available when I need it as my labmates keep stealing it for themselves!...now I need to go out and order 5 more.This product completely revolutionizes tube racks. I obviously love it! 

 

Steffan Vartanian - Genentech
Don’t you hate it when you spend all morning preparing RNA or harvesting lysates, only to come back from lunch to find your precious samples drowning in a pool of melted ice? Unfortunately it’s an all too common occurrence here at Genentech. But after using the Thermal Tray and CoolRack a few times, my soggy-sample days are officially over! Not only do these tools keep your samples chilled for hours, but they also keep everything organized, safe, and secure. Biocision’s products are very well made, well designed, and just plain look cool. Highly recommended!

 

Eric Jorgensen - Evotec
We have recently purchased 2 CoolRack M90 and 1 CoolRack M30 for use in our lab. We use them almost every day. We are very pleased with the performance of these fine products. We save time on having to replenish ice in our ice buckets since we only need to get ice once a day now. Not only do they keep our samples nice and cold but they also keep our samples in order. No more digging around in the ice bucket looking for lost samples. The weight of the CoolRacks keep them firmly in place in the ice bucket, even as the ice melts. We are very happy with this product and would highly recommend it to others.


Maya Dajee - Proteolix
Our group at Proteolix routinely harvests numerous tissue (200-300) samples/experiment that need to be kept chilled, for an extended period of time. The CoolRack provides us with a stable platform to keep our samples at optimum temperature. Plus keeps our samples organized, with hassle free transfer of the sample tubes from ice to dry ice. This has saved us an enormous amount of time in looking for frosty lost tubes in dry ice. It is great to thaw frozen samples on the CoolRack, since this is pertinent for sample integrity. We have three CoolRacks in our group, and now I see other groups borrowing our racks!


Carmen Ip - Gilead
The CoolRack works very well for our application. We have been searching for such a block for more than a year but could not find a suitable one. So, thanks very much.


Laura Matthews - Sarah Canon Research Institute (SCRI)
I am writing about both the products that we have been testing. They are both great products. The CoolRacks have eliminated the mess of mushy cardboard freezer boxes. The samples also freeze much faster in the CoolRacks. The CoolBox was especially helpful in the transport of fresh biopsies on dry ice from one location to another.